Image Credit: Courtesy Tim Jarvis

AG Society Spirit of Adventure Awards

  • July 05, 2010

Celebrating the best of Australian endeavour with the Spirit of Adventure Awards. Here are the past winners.

AG Spirit of Adventure Awards

This accolade is awarded to people whose efforts reflect a strength, determination and the ability to overcome obstacles to achieve their goal. It also acknowledges that sometimes it takes more than one go to attain that goal. The Spirit of Adventure Award received its name in 2007. Prior to this winners received a silver medallion.

As the AG Awards are a celebration of achievement and not a competition as such, not all categories are awarded annually. Each nomination and category is judged on merit alone..

Year Awardee
2015 Huw Kingston
2014 Heath Jamieson and Sean Donoghue
2012 James Castrission and Justin Jones
2010 Alex Vail, Tane Sinclair-Taylor and Joshua Stewart
2009 Gemma Woldendorp & Natasha Sebire
Andrew Hughes
2008 Esther Nunn
Cheryl and Nikki Bart
Chris Bray & Clark Carter
2007 Andrew Gregory / Kieran Kelly
2006 Glenn Singleman and Heather Swan
Lang Kidby and Warren Brown
2005 David Noble
2004 Ben Kozel & Tim Jarvis
Libby Hall
2003 Rob Rymill
Susie Brown
2002 Operation Pilgrimage
Nicholas Gleeson
Lowanna & Kevin Doye
2001 Chris Hatherly & Tim Cope
Fran West
2000 Sth Georgia Travers Expedition
Curnow–Andreasen family
John Wallington
1999 Brian Walker
Sue Fear
Warren McDonald
1998 Greg & Vicki Warburton
Treseder, Williams, Brown
Max & Sheila Newman
1997 Alan Warild
Brigitte Muir
Susie Moroney
1996 Jon Johanson
Eric Philips
1995 Philip & Ifta Gee
Katie Reid, Amelia Kewley and Stuart Murray
Wade Fairley & Angus Finney
1994 Anne Lise Guy
Glenn Singleman & Nic Feteris
Morie Ward, Tom Williams, Dave Robinson, Keith Williams, Ian Brown, Peter Treseder.
1993 Katie Reid
Drew Kettle
Mike McDowell
Don McIntyre
1992 Terry Bolland
Peter Treseder
John Walmsley
Margaret Noffs
1991 Greg Mortimer; Greg Child
Tim Macartney-Snape
1990 Gaby Kennard
Michael/Sue Cusack
 1989 Greg Mortimer
Kay Cottee
Ashley Coulston
Andrew Wight
Chris Baxter
  1988 Australian Bicentennial Antarctic Expedition
Aden Wickes
  1987 Mike Dillon
Ron Ware
Sorrel Wilby


About the awards
Lifetime awards
Adventure awards
Conservation awards